Privacy policy

The protection of your personal data is very important to us. We therefore process your data exclusively on the basis of the statutory provisions. This data protection information informs you about the most important aspects of data processing within the framework of our Web site.

Information on the data controller

The data controller for data processing on this Web site is:

base – homes for students GmbH
Gymnasiumstraße 85
1190 Wien

Phone: +43 1 369 54 90
Email: office@viennabase.at

Data Protection Officer: Mag. Ing. Markus Oman, CSE (O.P.P.).

email: datenschutzbeauftragter@viennabase.at

Purpose of processing and legal bases

The EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), the Data Protection Act 2000 and the Data Protection Amendment Act 2018 all serve the right to the protection of personal data. We use your personal data for the following purposes and based on the following legal bases:

As part of your consent (Art. 6 para 1 lit. a GDPR):

If you have given us permission to process your personal data, it will only be processed for the purposes and to the extent agreed in the declaration of consent. You can revoke your consent at any time with future effect.

To fulfill contractual obligations (Art. 6 para 1 lit b GDPR):

The processing of your data is necessary for the fulfillment of a contract of use concluded with you or for the implementation of pre-contractual measures (processing and handling of the home room application, correspondence via the contact form).

To fulfill legal obligations (Art. 6 para. 1 lit. c GDPR):

We are subject to the Austrian Student Housing Act (StudHG), which may make it necessary to process personal data.

To safeguard legitimate interests (Art. 6 para 1 lit. f GDPR):

We process your data in our legitimate interest for the following purposes (unless your interests as a data subject conflict with this):

Contract processor

Contract data processing shall be deemed to exist where a processor is commissioned to process personal data without being assigned responsibility for the associated business process. In these cases, we conclude an agreement for contract data processing with the external processor. In doing so, base – homes for students GmbH retains the full responsibility for the correct implementation of data processing in accordance with data protection laws. The contract data processor may process personal data only to the extent specified by the controller.

We only work with contract processors (such as printers or agencies) who offer sufficient guarantees that suitable technical and organisational measures in accordance with the requirements of the GDPR are taken during processing and who ensure the protection of personal data. The processing by a processor only takes place on the basis of a contract with base – homes for students GmbH which precisely defines the duration, type, and purpose of the processing. All contract processors who process personal data regularly check and control whether the data protection regulations are observed.

Data types and purpose of the processing

Personal data of our residents (name, address, telephone number, email address, age and gender etc.) as well as financial data (bank details and account number etc.) are collected and processed by us for the purpose of resident administration.

The use of personal data for sending direct emails and newsletters for marketing purposes, information and event invitations is for this purpose only and can be revoked at any time.

Recipients of the personal data

Data will only be forwarded to third parties (e.g. banks, legal representatives in business cases, chartered accountants, courts of law when required, administrative authorities when required, participating contractual and business partners, providers [IT service providers], insurance companies when required) if the legal requirements for such forwarding are met.

Duration of data storage

We store personal data only for as long as it is needed for the purpose of processing and for as long as we are required to do so by law. Subsequently, they will be irrevocably deleted.

Due to legal provisions (storage obligations) of the Austrian Enterprise Code (§212 UGB) and the Federal Fiscal Code (§132 BAO) for invoice and financial data, the relevant personal data must be stored for 7 years.

Data collection and processing when visiting the Web site

Our Web site is hosted. The web servers create log files which are automatically sent to us by your browser. These are:

This data is processed for the purpose of enabling the use of the Web site (connection establishment), system security, technical administration of the network infrastructure and for the optimization of the internet offer. The IP address is only evaluated in case of attacks on our network infrastructure.

Further personal information such as your name, address, telephone number or email address is not collected unless you provide this information voluntarily, e.g. when contacting us.

Data security and rights under the General Data Protection Regulation

By taking all possible technical and organisational measures, we make every effort to store your personal data in such a way that it is not accessible to third parties. As a matter of principle, you are entitled to the rights of information, rectification, erasure, restriction, data portability, objection, revocation and complaint. More specifically, these are:

When you visit our Web site, the following data is processed:

Newsletter

We send out newsletters. If you want to subscribe to our newsletter, we require your email address and you have the option of providing your name voluntarily. This data will only be used to communicate with you in connection with sending our newsletter. By subscribing to our newsletter, you declare that you agree to us storing the aforementioned data in order to send the newsletter until you unsubscribe. No further use of the data shall take place. You can unsubscribe from our newsletter at any time using the link in the respective emails, or by sending a request to unsubscribe to marketing@viennabase.at .

Contacting us

On our Web site, contact can be established via an email window that opens up automatically. The data will not be passed on to third parties in this connection. The data will only be used to process the conversation. The legal basis for processing the data is Art. 6 para 1 lit. f GDPR. If the purpose of the contacting is the conclusion of a contract, Art. 6 para 1 lit. b GDPR is the additional legal basis for the processing. 

Prize draws

If you participate in one of our prize draws, we will process the personal data required from you for participation to determine winners and inform them via email. If you do not provide us with the information, it is not possible to participate in the prize draw or to contact you in the event of winning. The data will not be used for any further purpose unless such use is required in order to carry out the prize draw or to send you the prize. No further data will be passed on to third parties, unless express consent has been given of base – homes for students GmbH is obliged to hand over the data, e.g. due to a court or official order.  

Web analysis

This Web site uses functions of Google Analytics, a web analysis service of Google Inc.

The information generated by Google Analytics about your use of this Web site (including your IP address) is stored by Google Inc. Google will only use this information to analyse the use of the Web site. Anonymised evaluations and diagrams on the number of visits, number of pages called up per user, etc. are created. We use these exclusively for the purposes of our own market research and, above all, to optimise and design our Web site in line with user requirements. You can find more information about Google Analytics at www.google.com/analytics.

Cookies that enable an analysis of your use of the Web site are used for this purpose. The information thus generated is transferred to the provider's server and stored there. Your IP address is recorded, but immediately pseudonymised. As a result, only a rough localization is possible.

The relationship with the web analytics provider is based on the "Privacy Shield" agreement between the EU and the United States.

The data processing is carried out pursuant to the legal provisions of §96 para 3 TKG and Art 6 para 1 lit. f (legitimate interest) of the GDPR.

Our concern in terms of the GDPR (legitimate interest) is the improvement of our offer and our Web presence. Since the privacy of our users is important to us, the user data is pseudonymised. The user data is stored for a period of 26 months.

You may prevent this by setting up your browser so that no cookies are stored.

Data Protection Officer

Data subjects may consult the Data Protection Officer on all matters relating to the processing of their personal data and the exercise of their rights. If necessary, the Officer will cooperate with the supervisory authority and act as a contact person for the supervisory authority in matters related to the processing of personal data, including prior consultation. base – homes for students GmbH ensures that the Data Protection Officer does not receive any instructions in the performance of his duties. The contact details for the Data Protection Officer of base – homes for students GmbH can be found in the contact information at the beginning of this Privacy Policy.

Change of this Privacy policy

This data protection information may be changed from time to time due to the current legal situation or the continuing development of the services of base – homes for students GmbH. The amended version will then also be published here. When you visit our Web site again, you should therefore re-read the data protection information in order to keep up to date with the protection of the personal data collected by us.

Last updated: July 2020

Datenschutz­erklärung

Der Schutz deiner persönlichen Daten ist uns ein besonderes Anliegen. Wir verarbeiten deine Daten daher ausschließlich auf Grundlage der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen. In diesen Datenschutzinformationen informieren wir dich über die wichtigsten Aspekte der Datenverarbeitung im Rahmen unserer Website.

Hinweis zur verantwortlichen Stelle

Die verantwortliche Stelle für die Datenverarbeitung auf dieser Website ist:

base – homes for students GmbH
Gymnasiumstraße 85
1190 Wien

Telefon: +43 1 369 54 90
E-Mail: office@viennabase.at

Datenschutzbeauftragter: Mag. Ing. Markus Oman, CSE (O.P.P.).

eMail: datenschutzbeauftragter@viennabase.at

Zweck der Verarbeitung und Rechtsgrundlagen

Die EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DSGVO), das Datenschutzgesetz 2000 sowie das Datenschutz-Anpassungsgesetz 2018 dienen dem Recht auf Schutz personenbezogener Daten. Wir verwenden deine personenbezogenen Daten zu folgenden Zwecken und basierend auf folgenden Rechtsgrundlagen:

Im Rahmen deiner Einwilligung (Art 6 Abs 1 lit a DSGVO):

Hast du uns zur Verarbeitung deiner personenbezogenen Daten eine Einwilligung erteilt, erfolgt eine Verarbeitung nur zu den in der Einwilligungserklärung festgelegten Zwecken und in dem darin vereinbarten Umfang. Du kannst deine Einwilligung jederzeit mit Wirkung für die Zukunft widerrufen.

Zur Erfüllung von vertraglichen Pflichten (Art 6 Abs 1 lit b DSGVO):

Die Verarbeitung deiner Daten ist für die Erfüllung eines mit dir geschlossenen Benützungsvertrages oder für die Durchführung vorvertraglicher Maßnahmen (Bearbeitung und Abwicklung der Heimplatzbewerbung, Korrespondenz über das Kontaktformular) erforderlich.

Zur Erfüllung rechtlicher Verpflichtungen (Art 6 Abs 1 lit c DSGVO):

Wir unterliegen dem Österreichischen Studentenheimgesetz (StudHG), das es erforderlich machen kann, personenbezogene Daten zu verarbeiten.

Zur Wahrung berechtigter Interessen (Art 6 Abs 1 lit f DSGVO):

Wir verarbeiten deine Daten in unserem berechtigten Interesse zu folgenden Zwecken (soweit nicht deine Interessen als Betroffener dem entgegenstehen):

Auftragsverarbeiter

Eine Auftragsdatenverarbeitung liegt vor, wenn ein Auftragsverarbeiter mit der Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten beauftragt wird, ohne dass ihm die Verantwortung für den zugehörigen Geschäftsprozess übertragen wird. In diesen Fällen ist schließen wir mit dem externen Auftragsverarbeiter eine Vereinbarung über eine Auftragsdatenverarbeitung ab. Dabei behält base – homes for students GmbH die volle Verantwortung für die datenschutzrechtlich korrekte Durchführung der Datenverarbeitung. Der Auftragsverarbeiter darf personenbezogene Daten nur im Rahmen der Weisungen des Verantwortlichen verarbeiten.

Wir arbeiten nur mit Auftrags Verarbeitern (wie z.B. Druckereien oder Agenturen) zusammen, die hinreichend Garantien dafür bieten, dass geeignete technische und organisatorische Maßnahmen bei der Verarbeitung, im Einklang mit den Anforderungen der DSGVO, erfolgen und den Schutz der personenbezogenen Daten gewährleisten. Die Verarbeitung durch einen Auftragsverarbeiter erfolgt nur auf Grundlage eines Vertrages mit base – homes for students GmbH, welcher die Dauer, die Art, den Zweck der Verarbeitung genau festlegt. Alle Auftragsverarbeiter, die personenbezogene Daten verarbeiten, überprüfen und kontrollieren regelmäßig, ob die datenschutzrechtlichen Bestimmungen eingehalten werden.

Datenarten und Zweck der Verarbeitung

Personenbezogene Daten unserer BewohnerInnen (Name, Adresse, Telefonnummer, Email-Adresse, Alter und Geschlecht etc.) sowie Finanzdaten (Bankverbindung und Kontonummer etc.) werden zum Zweck der BewohnerInnenverwaltung von uns erhoben und verarbeitet.

Die Verwendung personenbezogener Daten zur Versendung von Direct E-Mails und Newslettern zu Marketingzwecken, für Informationen und Veranstaltungseinladungen erfolgt nur für diesen Zweck und kann jederzeit widerrufen werden.

Empfänger der personenbezogenen Daten

Eine Weitergabe der Daten an Dritte (z. B. Banken, Rechtsvertreter im Geschäftsfall, Wirtschaftstreuhänder, Gerichte im Anlassfall, Verwaltungsbehörden im Anlassfall, Mitwirkende Vertrags- und Geschäftspartner, Provider (IT-Dienstleister), Versicherungen im Anlassfall) erfolgt nur, wenn die rechtlichen Voraussetzungen vorliegen.

Dauer der Datenspeicherung

Wir speichern personenbezogene Daten nur solange, wie sie für den Zweck der Verarbeitung benötigt werden und solange es uns gesetzliche Bestimmungen vorschreiben. Danach werden sie unwiderruflich gelöscht.

Aufgrund gesetzlicher Bestimmungen (Aufbewahrungspflichten) des Unternehmensgesetzbuches (§212 UGB) und der Bundesabgabenordnung (§132 BAO) für Rechnungs- und Finanzdaten müssen die betreffenden personenbezogenen Daten für 7 Jahre gespeichert werden.

Datenerhebung und -verarbeitung beim Besuch der Website

Unsere Website ist gehostet. Die Webserver erzeugen Logfiles, die dein Browser automatisch an uns übermittelt. Dies sind:

Die Verarbeitung dieser Daten erfolgt zum Zweck, die Nutzung der Website zu ermöglichen (Verbindungsaufbau), der Systemsicherheit, der technischen Administration der Netzinfrastruktur sowie zur Optimierung des Internetangebotes. Die IP-Adresse wird nur bei Angriffen auf unsere Netzinfrastruktur ausgewertet.

Darüberhinausgehende personenbezogene Angaben wie dein Name, deine Anschrift, Telefonnummer oder E-Mail-Adresse werden nicht erfasst, es sei denn, diese Angaben werden von dir freiwillig gemacht, z.B. im Rahmen einer Kontaktaufnahme.

Datensicherheit und Rechte aufgrund der Datenschutzgrundverordnung

Wir sind bemüht, deine personenbezogenen Daten durch Ergreifung aller technischen und organisatorischen Möglichkeiten so zu speichern, dass sie für Dritte nicht zugänglich sind. Dir stehen grundsätzlich die Rechte auf Auskunft, Berichtigung, Löschung, Einschränkung, Datenübertragbarkeit, Widerspruch, Widerruf und Beschwerde zu. Konkret sind das:

Wenn du unsere Website besuchst, werden folgende Daten verarbeitet:

Newsletter

Wir versenden Newsletter. Sofern du unseren Newsletter abonnieren willst, benötigen wir deine E-Mail Adresse und du hast die Möglichkeit freiwillig deinen Namen anzugeben. Diese Daten werden nur für die Kommunikation mit dir im Rahmen unseres Newsletter Angebotes verwendet. Mit der Abonnierung des Newsletters erklärst du dich damit einverstanden, dass wir die vorgenannten Daten für den Versand des Newsletters und bis zu deiner Abmeldung speichern. Eine weitergehende Nutzung der Daten erfolgt nicht. Du kannst unsere Newsletter jederzeit über einen in den entsprechenden E-Mails enthaltenen Link abbestellen oder deinen Abmeldewunsch an marketing@viennabase.at kommunizieren.

Kontakt mit uns

Auf unserer Website wird die Kontaktaufnahme über ein sich automatisch öffnendes E-Mail Fenster ermöglicht. In diesem Zusammenhang erfolgt keine Weitergabe der Daten an Dritte. Die Daten werden ausschließlich für die Verarbeitung der Konversation verwendet. Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung der Daten ist Art 6 Abs 1 lit f DSGVO. Zielt die Kontaktaufnahme auf den Abschluss eines Vertrages ab, ist Art 6 Abs 1 lit b DSGVO die zusätzliche Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung. 

Gewinnspiele

Bei einer Teilnahme an einem unserer Gewinnspiele verarbeiten wir die von dir für die Teilnahme erforderlichen personenbezogenen Daten zur Ermittlung und Benachrichtigung der Gewinner per E-Mail. Stellst du uns die Daten nicht zur Verfügung ist eine Teilnahme am Gewinnspiel bzw. eine Kontaktaufnahme bzgl. einer Gewinnmitteilung nicht möglich. Eine weitergehende Nutzung der Daten erfolgt nicht, es sei denn, die Weitergabe ist für die Durchführung des Gewinnspiels oder die Versendung des Gewinns erforderlich. Darüber hinaus erfolgt keine Weitergabe an Dritte, wenn dazu nicht ausdrücklich das Einverständnis erteilt wurde oder die base – homes for students GmbH zur Herausgabe verpflichtet ist, beispielsweise aufgrund einer gerichtlichen oder behördlichen Anordnung.  

Web Analyse

Diese Website verwendet Funktionen von Google Analytics, einen Webanalysedienst der Google Inc.

Die von Google Analytics erzeugten Informationen über deine Nutzung dieser Website (einschließlich deiner IP-Adresse) werden von der Google Inc. gespeichert. Google wird diese Informationen lediglich dazu verwenden die Nutzung der Website zu analysieren. Es werden anonymisierte Auswertungen und Grafiken zur Anzahl der Besuche, Anzahl der pro Nutzer aufgerufenen Seiten, usw. erstellt. Diese setzen wir ausschließlich zu Zwecken der eigenen Marktforschung und vor allem der Optimierung und bedarfsgerechten Gestaltung unserer Website ein. Mehr Informationen zu Google Analytics findest du unter www.google.com/analytics.

Dazu werden Cookies verwendet,  die eine Analyse deiner Benutzung der Website ermöglichen. Die dadurch erzeugten Informationen werden auf den Server des Anbieters übertragen und dort gespeichert. Deine IP-Adresse wird erfasst, aber umgehend pseudonymisiert. Dadurch ist nur mehr eine grobe Lokalisierung möglich.

Die Beziehung zum Webanalyseanbieter basiert auf dem „Privacy Shield“-Abkommen zwischen EU und USA.

Die Datenverarbeitung erfolgt auf Basis der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen des §96 Abs 3 TKG sowie des Art 6 Abs 1 lit f (berechtigtes Interesse) der DSGVO.

Unser Anliegen im Sinne der DSGVO (berechtigtes Interesse) ist die Verbesserung unseres Angebotes und unseres Webauftritts. Da uns die Privatsphäre unserer Nutzung wichtig ist, werden die Nutzerdaten pseudonymisiert. Die Nutzerdaten werden für die Dauer von 26 Monaten aufbewahrt.

Du kannst dies verhindern, indem du deinen Browser so einrichtest, dass keine Cookies gespeichert werden.

Datenschutzbeauftragter

Betroffene Personen können den Datenschutzbeauftragten zu allen mit der Verarbeitung ihrer personenbezogenen Daten und mit der Wahrnehmung ihrer Rechte im Zusammenhang stehenden Fragen zu Rate ziehen. Er arbeitet im Bedarfsfall mit der Aufsichtsbehörde zusammen und fungiert als Ansprechpartner für die Aufsichtsbehörde in mit der Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten zusammenhängenden Fragen, einschließlich der vorherigen Konsultation. base – homes for students GmbH stellt sicher, dass der Datenschutzbeauftragte bei der Erfüllung seiner Aufgaben keine Anweisungen erhält. Die Kontaktmöglichkeiten zum Datenschutzbeauftragten der base – homes for students GmbH befinden sich in den Kontaktinformationen am Anfang der Datenschutzerklärung.

Änderung dieser Datenschutzerklärung

Diese Datenschutzhinweise können aufgrund der aktuellen Rechtslage oder fortlaufenden Weiterentwicklung der Leistungen von base – homes for students GmbH von Zeit zu Zeit geändert werden. Die geänderte Version wird dann ebenfalls an dieser Stelle veröffentlicht. Bei einem neuerlichen Besuch unserer Website solltest du dir daher die Datenschutzhinweise nochmals durchlesen, um über den Schutz der von uns erfassten personenbezogenen Daten auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben.

Stand Juli 2020